

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Mayor Bonnette and Members of Council
FROM:	Keith Hamilton, Planner – Policy
DATE:	August 13, 2019
MEMORANDUM NO.:	MEM-PLS-2019-0005
RE:	Cannabis Cultivation and Processing – Notice of Passing

PURPOSE OF THE MEMORANDUM:

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform Council on the recent passing and adoption of amendments related to cannabis cultivation and processing in Halton Hills.

BACKGROUND:

On July 8th Council passed four (4) amendments related to cannabis cultivation and processing:

- By-law 2019-0034 to amendment the Official Plan through Official Plan Amendment (OPA) 35;
- By-law 2019-0035 to amend the Comprehensive Zoning By-law 2010-0050;
- By-law 2019-0036 to amend the 401 Corridor Zoning By-law 2000-0138; and,
- By-law 2019-0037 to amend the Site Plan Control By-law 2013-0070.

The intent of these amendments is to introduce regulations for cannabis cultivation and processing into Town land use planning policies. The passing of these amendments represents the conclusion of a study that began in April of 2018.

COMMENTS:

The appeal period for amendments to the Official Plan, Comprehensive Zoning By-law and 401 Corridor Zoning By-law regarding cannabis cultivation and processing expired on August 8th, 2019 with no appeals received. These amendments are now in force.

The amendments passed reflect the preferred policy approach where all proposals in Urban (and Rural) Employment Areas require Site Plan Approval, and all proposals in the Agricultural/Rural Area require site-specific zoning in addition to Site Plan Approval.

CONCLUSION:

This memorandum summarizes the completion of the Town's study on cannabis cultivation and processing in Halton Hills. Through extensive staff and consultant research, public and agency/stakeholder consultation, proposed amendments were developed to both introduce cultivation and processing into Town policies, and establish regulatory tools for development proposals.

Reviewed and approved by,

onugu Parter.

Bronwyn Parker, Manager of Planning Policy

John Linhardt, Commissioner of Planning and Sustainability

Drentharskal

Brent Marshall, Chief Administrative Officer